Pitch a tent in the backyard

  

I always feel after Memorial Day is over we are officially into the “summer” season (I know it really starts June 20th) but some colleges have already ended for the year and the stores have started selling “white” again! There is a new word that I recently learned that holds true for this particular summer, Staycation which refers to a holiday that takes place either at or near the home (damn gas prices).
There were a few other new words that came about in 2008 I liked-

Techorate – the integration of technology into the overall decorative theme of a home

 Ruralpolitan- is a professional who has abandoned the urban dwelling for a rural lifestyle and lives on three acres or more, typically within 40 miles of a city.

 Greenwashing – refers to companies and corporations that make green claims when their products or actions are anything but

 Swipeout When the magnetic strip on a credit card wears out due to use.

 IrritainmentA celebrity spectacle that, like a car wreck, you just can’t turn away from.

  So if you have to take a Staycation this summer don’t feel bad, instead be mature and think about sticking it to the gas stations, airlines and anyone else who is price gouging us!

4 Responses

  1. Holy Cow! I have been taking “staycations” for a long time now and never knew I was on one. Thanks DD!

  2. I’ll have to start planning a staycation so that I don’t swipeout my credit card or focus on irritainment. Maybe, I’ll spend the summer techorating my urban dwelling.

    Couldn’t think of a way to include the other two words into a comment.

  3. I can’t wait to camp in my backyard this summer with the sprinklers off and text message and talk loud on my celly

  4. Those are fun words too! My friends and I are documenting our staycations this year, please join us!

Leave a Reply

