What the heck is an HSP?

The Daily Dalia is an HSP (Highly Sensitive Person); yes it is real and affects 20% of society. I literally feel things that I just can’t describe to a non HSP. What it means:

1.     Being an HSP means your nervous system is more sensitive to subtleties. Your sight, hearing, and sense of smell are not necessarily keener (although they may be). But your brain processes information and reflects on it more deeply.

       Being an HSP also means, necessarily, that you are more easily over stimulated, stressed out, overwhelmed.

Until very late in life I thought something was wrong with me until I stumbled onto this…my whole life was justified. I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful it was to have a label on what I felt (misery loves company). It is very hard to live life as an HSP which is why I am sharing this…if you know anyone, child or adult who is overly sensitive (feelings, sight, scents, hearing) you may want to pass this along. Please, do not tell anyone they are too sensitive, the world is full of cold hearted people, we balance them out. 

To read more…

3 Responses

  1. Nice to see someone else writing about being Highly Sensitive!

  2. I don’t often comment on older posts – but even though its been a year since you wrote your post I thought you might like to see what I am currently working on – a new online community and magazine for HSPs that we hope will provide insight and inspiration by showing the upside of being highly sensitive.

    The site and magazine celebrate all that HSPs have to offer due to their sensitivity, insight, and creativeness. Check us out at tribe.paramimedia.com

    Peace. Live happy!
    Todd

  3. Thank you for this post. I found out very recently myself that I am an HSP, and it’s such a relief, as you say, to find out that what you’ve been experience is not as anomalous as you’d thought.

Leave a Reply

