Back to Boonton

I know summer officially ends September 21st but for most, summer is over after Labor Day weekend. I’m heading out to NJ for the week and will be spending the holiday in good old Boonton, the town I grew up in! Labor Day in Boonton was fun, for the small town we had a big Fireman’s fair that lasted 4 days, a parade with fireman from all over the state and fireworks. When you’re a little kid in a small town, this seemed almost like Disneyland! I still enjoy it as an adult but now I see it more like the town fair it really is. The only downfall to this whole event was once it was over on Labor Day Monday the next day was back to school. Yes, for the parents of all these students the holiday for them continued on.

For anyone who needs a Daily Dalia fix “daily” I wish I could have my staff give you some re-runs for the week but I don’t have a staff.  I could get on a computer everyday and pick one of my past favorites for you but I’m on vacation and I doubt you read my blog when you are on vacation so we are even. I am leaving it up to you to find your favorite reruns and reread them…I will be back after the day you are not allowed to wear white.

8 Responses

  1. Have a good time in Boonton!

  2. My personal favorite part of the “Boonton Festivities” for Labor Day week end, is the steamers at the beer tent. That is of couse only after you watched the parade down main street. It just doesn’t get much better than that.

  3. and I suggest you watch the parade from the flats because if you get to the fair fast enough you can buy a plastic mug for like $5.00 and drink beer until the beer truck they set up for the firemen is empty.

  4. Leave it to a “Cooke” to optimize the beer tent experience and know all the “ins” and “outs” of The Boonton Labor Day Weekend.

  5. Of course! I learned that little trick from RJ and the Palazzo’s.

  6. Hey there!
    RJ will be singing in the beer tent performing a few numbers with my band on Monday!
    C ya there.

  7. Hi Albert – Have fun, wish I could be there!

  8. The key here is watching part of the parade in the flats, getting over to get your mug around 2ish…and getting your clams and pizza while the beer is still flowing.

    Then, as a cost savings technique, show up at the fair on Monday and wait til all the food goes on sale…clams dropped $2/dozen by 9pm on Monday!!

    Good luck on the 50/50 next year Ter!

Leave a Reply

