Que?

Sometimes I feel stupid; I just learned that the United States does not have an official language. All this time I thought English was our official language…duh. So I guess now I don’t have the right to get mad when I walk into my neighborhood stores and hear Mexican music playing or when I call my manfriend’s Nextel phone and their message is in both English and Spanish (thank god Verizon does not do that). I can’t get mad when I’m looking for a job and one of the requirements is speaking Spanish (even though it’s not a state job) or going to back to school night and they have interpreters for people who can’t understand English. I can still get frustrated but if we don’t have an official language then it’s wide open!

My way of thinking is if I moved to Italy, I would assume I would have to learn Italian. Living in San Diego I do hear a lot of people complain about this problem being so close to the border. I’m not sure if this is happening in the Midwest or East Coast? It’s not that I don’t like Spanish but honestly, I don’t have the patience to have to listen to things twice…I know, I know.

I have learned something new this week and now know I have no right to get angry…lesson learned. In this case, ignorance was not bliss. Damn, I wish I had paid more attention in my Spanish class in High School.

3 Responses

  1. How is a nation of immigrants supposed to have a national language that we force upon people? The influx of new languages into the country and our ability to accept this influx, actually allows the English language to change/adapt/evolve to include these other languages, keeping it a healthy, living language, rather than one of the languages that are no longer spoken.

    I agree, that like you, I do not have the patience to listen to everything twice. However, the benefits of living in a pluralist society far outweigh the frustration of listening to things twice.

    On the flipside, home languages of immigrants tend to be lost to English by the third generation.

  2. I love Spanish, it’s gonna keep me from getting Alzheimers I challenge my brain with it each day in my work and now in my neighborhood as my neighbors speak Spanish.

    I do tell my Spanish speaking friends you most watch English TV to help learn English and it will help you succeed in this country.

  3. Don’t want to rant too much about this one, but my person pet peeve about bilingual signs are the “Enter” “Exit” “Men’s” and” Women’s” signs in a store like Sears. When I travel to a foreign county I learn their words for those things by about the time I leave their airport. I’m assuming that nobody teleported directly to Sears from a foreign county, so why those signs? They only reinforce the idea that English isn’t needed here.

Leave a Reply

