Scents and Sensibility

 

Sophia Loren

Sophia Loren

My topic today is Perfume, if I make one point in this post is that less is better. There is nothing worse than someone over spraying their favorite celebrity scent and making everyone around them gag for fresh air. I don’t know what is worse, BO or a perfume overdose. I actually had to change seats in a theater because an older woman held her finger down too long on the perfume spray (I think woman over 60 are one of the biggest culprits of this crime…not to mention their poor choice of scents). I remember this woman I did not particularly like wore Angel so now every time I smell that I just get bad memories…smelly by association! And please, when going on job interviews…just opt of deodorant that day. I also think Calvin Klein is pulling something over on us, I swear every one of his scents smell the same with just name and bottle changes.

Do you know the first celebrity to have their own scent…in 1980 Sophia Loren came out with Sophia followed by Forever Krystle in 1984 by Linda Evans and next in 1988…the BEST one yet was Uninhibited by…you guessed it…CHER (yes, I did own it). It seems as if every celebrity is putting their name on a bottle now. Why did it seem glamorous back in the 80’s but now does not seem as vogue when Paris Hilton is on a box called Fairy Dust…there is no comparison.

Just remember, dab a little of your scent on either the backs of your knees, across your abdomen, in the cleavage area, on your wrists or your neck and the heat from your body will release the scent when you need it the most. You want to leave a mmmmm impression…not an ewwwwww memory!

3 Responses

  1. Backs of your knees, really? Never heard that one.

  2. Hmmm behind the knees…interesting
    I so agree with you on this issue, My girlfriend and I were in an elevator in Vegas a few weeks ago when an eldery lady got in. OMG I could not breath, Although it was perfume It might as well have a shunk that got on the elevator.

  3. Mu new favorite perfume is “pure grace” by Philosophy. I’m not fond of too many perfumes, but being “stuck in the 70’s” I still think my favorite is “skin musk” by Bonnie Bell

Leave a Reply

