Enough is Enough

OK…now I’m really scared. For the past year I have been dealing quite well with the recession, my hopes have not yet been crushed. That is until yesterday when I heard the awful news, Macy’s is closing 11 stores. Macy’s is my store; I have been a fan since I was just a little girl shopping at the Willowbrook Mall in Wayne NJ. I would take a bus from my town and ride about 20 minutes to get to my world, the mall, which I would spend most of my time in Macy’s. Macy’s in my opinion is for the everyday person unlike other stores. I have never been a Nordstrom fan; just the sound of that woman’s voice paging people over the intercom is so pretentious. I will only shop there out of desperation. Lord and Taylor, Saks and Bloomingdales also fit in this category. Macys has nice merchandise without having their nose up in the air. I’ll never forget my first visit to the Macy’s in NY at Christmas as a kid, talk about being in heaven!

It was odd this past Christmas I shopped at the Macy’s in San Francisco the day after Christmas and their sales were so disappointing. They are famous for their racks of 50% off with a little sign right above that telling you to take another 50% off that price…almost giving it away. All I saw on this day was 40% off signs; I honestly thought I was in the Twilight Zone. You don’t do that the day after Christmas; I’m not a rookie shopper so I walked out not buying anything. Now I’m thinking maybe they had to do that, maybe it was their last attempt to save some stores. At least that is what I will say to myself because I don’t like thinking bad thoughts about my old friend Macy.

Good luck Macy’s, hang in there.

3 Responses

  1. You mean that you took the bus to Bamburger’s

  2. I hate to say it, but the more Macy’s that close the better. I had nothing against Macy’s until they decided to change the name of our Beloved Marshall Field’s in Chicago. I must admit I have only walked in to a Macy’s once since the change (I boycotted immediately after the announcement of the name change) and walked out within 20 minutes. I felt as if I was cheating on my husband!! I know New Yorkers love Macy’s as it is a tradition, but so was our Marshall Field’s. So I say it serves them right!

  3. I can understand your loyalty, I would not have liked it if they changed my Macy’s to Marshall Fields. But now now…lets not hold a grudge 🙂

Leave a Reply

