The Globes

I think of The Golden Globes as the warm ups for the Oscars with T.V included. Ever since fast forward has been invented award shows are tolerable, you don’t have to listen to winners thanking their dogs (Mr. Rourke). I think I enjoy the red carpet just as much as the show itself. Seeing Brad and Angelina avoid Ryan Seacrest was classic! Then I loved when Nancy O’dell congratulated Sting on his nomination and he replied “I’m only presenting tonight”…way to go Nancy!

As far as dresses go I didn’t see a WOW but I did have a favorite… Drew Barrymore (see photo on my Et Cetera tab). I just thought she looked glamorous, a little Marilyn M. going on there and not to mention I think she is adorable. I loved Glenn Close and Susan Sarandon wearing pants, I wish more women would wear cool pant suits. I wanted to hand out a couple of combs and bobby pins to all the people who kept moving the hair out of their face, to name a couple Mr. Rourke and Mr. Depp. I think the award for the celebrity who looks nothing like they did 20 years ago again goes to Mr. Rourke, hence the sunglasses.

I’m glad Stephen Spielberg was recognized and given the Cecil B DeMille lifetime achievement award. I think Mr. Spielberg has got to be one of the most creative/ talented people around and he appears to also be a nice guy. Although, if it wasn’t for him there would be a lot more people swimming in the ocean. Heath Ledger was also given a standing ovation and he did definitely deserve that award for playing the Joker, he was phenomenal. I think the award for the stupidest thing done by an attendee (it’s hard for me to call her a celebrity) was Miley Cyrus sticking out her tongue when the camera was on her for her nomination (best song). Ha Ha Miley, me being a Jersey girl I was happy the Jersey man won, Bruce Springsteen.

The big winner of the night was Slumdog Millionaire. Maybe it is one of the better movies I have seen this year but not quite sure it’s Oscar material.

Leave a Reply

