Rock-Paper-Scissors

Last night I met 3 friends for happy hour and after splitting the bill equally 4 ways there was an odd amount of singles left to be split when the server brought us back the change (server, not waitress, but that’s another post). So what does any normal group of people in a bar do to decide who gets that extra dollar change…you play rock- paper-scissors (we’re not a cheap group of people but we like to have fun). Now to be honest I don’t know this game well, I have only seen other people play. I grew up on the east coast and we didn’t play this, we did odds or evens. Once, twice, three…shoot! This game at least makes sense to me; it is either odd or even. This RPS game is odd, rock crushes scissor, scissor cuts paper and this one makes no sense to me…paper covers rock. Paper covers rock; that is just dumb.

Then my curiosity got the best of me this morning and I read up on rock-paper-scissor aka rochambeau on my pal Wikipedia. I couldn’t find a date of origin but learned they actually have an RPS Society and a RPS League. I may look into this league since it is sponsored by my beer of choice, Bud Light! There is a Las Vegas tournament that you win $50,000, how could I have not known about this other world. Is this game not luck, don’t you just stick out one of three hand gestures?

Now I did find that the East Coast version, odds or evens (aka Morra) goes back thousands of years to Ancient Roman and Greek times. When up to me I will always choose this version of the game, makes more sense; a rock could easily tear up a piece of paper.

See…even Seinfeld (East Coast) chooses Odds or Evens-

2 Responses

  1. Seinfeld may prefer odds evens but Sheldon of Big Bang Theory prefers Rock Paper Scissors, Lizard, Spock.

  2. I forgot that episode…classic!!! God I love that show.

Leave a Reply

