LOST OSCARS

What a big morning I had (it’s only 8:30 a.m. in California now). I woke up early and watched the 2 hour 5th season opener of LOST, my favorite show (they ended too late last night). Then the Oscar nominations came out, the Oscars are my Super Bowl, my World Series, my whatever basketball has…you get the picture.

Let’s start with LOST, the one word that comes to mind is unbelievable. I have said it before and I will say it again, this is the most creative show on T.V. An entire island disappears by the turn of a wheel but you don’t say “oh, that couldn’t happen”, instead you say “wow, how cool is that”. Now so far in this season your mind has to be sharp so there will be no drinking and watching LOST at the same time. They are traveling in time, gotta love it! Sawyer has not lost his sense of sarcasm handing out his nicknames. The best yesterday was Ginger to the redheaded girl…get it…Ginger from Gilligan’s Island, love that guy. I never want this show to end, it keeps my mind working.

Now onto the Oscars, I don’t think there are many surprises, I still have Frost/Nixon to see of the movies nominated. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button received the most nominations; this movie is still a mystery to me of its popularity. They are saying the Dark Knight was snubbed (except the Heath Ledger nomination), c’mon, it’s Batman. I’m glad Milk was recognized along with the Sean Penn who gave a superb performance. Slumdog Millionaire came in with 10 (second highest) and is the favorite going in. Damn, I don’t have a job at the moment so I can’t win the Oscar pool; I’m pretty good at it. The Oscars will be seen on February 22nd so there is still time to see these great performances.

BEST PICTURE
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Frost/Nixon
Milk
The Reader
Slumdog Millionaire

BEST ACTOR
Richard Jenkins, The Visitor
Frank Langella, Frost/Nixon
Sean Penn, Milk
Brad Pitt, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler

BEST ACTRESS
Anne Hathaway, Rachel Getting Married
Angelina Jolie, Changeling
Melissa Leo, Frozen River
Meryl Streep, Doubt
Kate Winslet, The Reader

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Josh Brolin, Milk
Heath Ledger, The Dark Knight
Robert Downey Jr., Tropic Thunder
Philip Seymour Hoffman, Doubt
Michael Shannon, Revolutionary Road

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Amy Adams, Doubt
Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Viola Davis, Doubt
Taraji P. Henson, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Marisa Tomei, The Wrestler

For the complete list…

One Response

  1. I haven’t seen most of the movies nominated yet, but I did see “Milk” and I am ecstatic that this film received a nomination for Best Film, with Sean Penn being nominated for Best Actor. This film needs as much exposure as it can get because it is a film that everyone should see, gay, straight, black or white!

    In this new era, where I believe people are again empowered and truly believe they can have an affect on the world around them, the story of Harvey Milk is inspiring for people young and old. He was in his 40s when he changed his life and became an activist for change. Milk’s life is a vivid display of American fortitude and hope for a better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

