I’m now a cult member

I finally caved in and joined Facebook, I held out for 5 years (I just read it started in 2004) but I was told by a friend it would help my blog traffic. So yes, my motive was selfish but just in the last 24 hours I have heard from a few people I would have probably never heard from and it brought back some good memories. I’m the type of person that likes to reminisce so this is right up my alley.  I always thought that Facebook was for 20 year olds and that I was too old to be part of the craze. I remember reading an article where these 2 kids were embarrassed when their mom joined. So me, being a good mom, did not want to embarrass my kids and refrained from joining. Oh well, their older now, too bad if they are.

This month it added its 150 millionth member so that makes me about the 151, 229,011 member.  It’s only been less than 24 hours since I joined and it’s already overwhelming. I have been warned it is addictive but I don’t have an addictive personality (unless my chardonnay is involved) so I’m not too worried. Then you read quotes like “”The whole thing seems so weird to me. Now you really have to turn off your computer and just go out to live real life and make real connections with people that way. I don’t think it’s healthy.” Real connections…live a real life…that also can be overrated. To read more…

I don’t think it can hurt joining the Facebook  “society”  and I don’t know if it helps, but for now I will enjoy the newness and it can entertain me while I look for a job. Any words of wisdom for me from experienced Facebook junkies?

One Response

  1. From 2004-2006ish Facebook was restricted for college students/faculty only. You had to have an approved university email address to join.

    It was a much simpilar time.

Leave a Reply

