Recipe for Lunch

 

There is a saying that says anyone can be a parent, unfortunately there is no test to be taken before conception. I have to wonder about this woman, she actually took the time to write Dear Abby about how her 16 year old and she keep having a disagreement. The daughter feels it is the mom’s responsibility to make her lunch every day. There is so much wrong with this story. Why does the mom need to write Abby, I mean c’mon. 16 year olds know how to have sex so I would think making a sandwich is that much easier. Daughter…

1.       Take bread out

2.       Get a knife, peanut butter and jelly

3.       With knife, spread your P&J over the bread

4.       If you choose, you can cut sandwich in half

5.       Eat

I remember once I was at a friend’s house and we were having a conversation and her 13 year old son kept interrupting us for her to make his lunch. God how I wanted to say “are you kidding, make it yourself”. I made my lunch when I was in the 1st grade and so did my kids…this way I know they made it the way they like it and they won’t throw it away at school…and the fact that they were quite capable of doing it. I think it makes them feel independent. How cool to say “I made my own lunch”.

Parents, if you really enjoy doing this task, well then go for it but at least TEACH them how to do it. If you keep doing everything for them their future mate will kill you! Teach them cooking, cleaning, laundry, budgeting, etc…all that important stuff they need to know so they will not appear to be so pathetic. Don’t waste Abby’s time with these letters, a parent should know the answer to that one.

One Response

  1. Thanks for your submission to the Modern Families blog carnival.

Leave a Reply

