It’s a changed world afterall

Living only an hour from Disneyland I have visited my favorite theme park at least a dozen times or so. Next time I go I will keep an open mind although I’m not pleased with what I have heard about the remodel of “It’s a Small World”. This ride is one of those traditional rides where you just sit back with the family and enjoy the somewhat corny song “It’s a Small World” while traveling through the different countries of the world. This ride debuted in 1964 at the World’s Fair in NY as a benefit to the U.N. Children’s Fund and later moved to Disneyland two years later.

As for the changes that have taken place, they have added characters from movies such as Stitch (the blue alien), Ariel, Aladdin, and some Toy Story characters. To me they took a generic boat ride that was all about kids from around the world and turned it into a Disneyland cruise when they added their characters. I didn’t think they should have added Johnny Depp to the Pirates ride but I dealt with it. I really hope they didn’t ruin this one…the classic!

Disney states it hopes adding what it calls “new magic” to the 43 year old attraction will attract more riders and create new traditions for young families who don’t identify with “Small World” as strongly as previous generations. This statement irritates me, if you want to change a ride then change Mr. Toads Wild Ride but don’t mess with a ride that was from the World’s Fair. Why can’t a “young family” identify with a ride dedicated to kids from around the world, I would have to guess Walt would not like this. If Disney owned the Statue of Liberty would they add Mickey sitting in the Crown just to attract “young families”.

If you’re not a true Disney fan then you just won’t understand.

2 Responses

  1. I am a true Disney fan …and I agree, this one should have been left alone. I get excited when I bring my kids on it and maybe my kids don’t truly appreciate it YET!!. But they will get just as excited when they take my grandchildren on this ride and thats when they will truly appreciate the message.

  2. I am a true Disney fan …and I agree, this one should have been left alone. I get excited when I bring my kids on it and maybe my kids don’t truly appreciate it YET!!. But they will get just as excited when they take my grandchildren on this ride and thats when they will truly appreciate the message.

Leave a Reply

