From flashing breasts to repentance

Yesterday was Fat Tuesday or Mardi Gras in New Orleans. I have New Orleans on my “places to visit before I die” list but not during the Mardi Gras season. I may have attempted the craziness in my 20’s but lifting my shirt in front of a bunch of strangers now would just not be the same. My craziness comes the day after Fat Tuesday which is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent.

 Growing up Catholic it was strongly suggested you give up something for Lent. What is Lent you ask…it is the 40 days before Easter (not counting Sundays which I just found out) where Christians imitate the 40 days that Jesus spent in the wilderness. It is a season of soul searching. So now is where my craziness came in. When I was a kid, one year for 40 days I actually gave up watching Gilligans Island. C’mon, that is just insane, and I survived it! I couldn’t give up Scooby, that would have put me over the edge so I settled for Gilligan.

 Even though now I do not attend church I still like to take part in Lent, I find it to be a challenge for me. One year I actually gave up burping (yes, this is huge for me) but I had to stop because I got stomach aches. One year was French fries & feta cheese. You don’t have to “give up” something; you can “do” something also for 40 days. So this year I am going to do my stomach exercises every day…and I don’t like stomach exercises! For nostalgic reasons I could give up my favorite show this year, LOST, which is very similar to Gilligan since it involves being stranded on a desert Island but I came to my senses. I was young and stupid once, now I am older and much wiser. Am I the only one who now participates…anyone else? Don’t give up reading the Daily Dalia for 40 days!

One Response

  1. When I was pregnant with my 3 children I give up beer for 9 months…so that is 27 months without beer… and not counting this year for the last 7 years I gave up beer for the month of January…So that is an additional 7 months. That will take care of the remainder of my lents till death

Leave a Reply

