Barbara Millicent Roberts

The first Barbie Doll

The first Barbie Doll

Next week is the big birthday…no, not mine but Barbie turns 50. It was 50 years ago that Ruth Handler noticed her daughter Barbara playing with paper dolls and giving them adult roles; most dolls were being represented by infants. On March 9, 1959 Barbie debuted at a toy fair in New York and the rest is history.

I do have a couple regrets in my life and one of them is giving away my Barbie Doll, I really wish I would have kept her and all her clothes. I think back to the olden Barbie days and I believe she was more special then, I know I only had one Barbie but then I also had Skipper. Why today do girls have like 10 or more Barbies, it’s just not the same. I know Barbie’s body has gotten a bad rap saying it’s not realistic and girls will become anorexic. Sarah Jessica Parker wasn’t even allowed to play with Barbie “my mother wouldn’t let me play with Barbie. She said no young woman would ever walk around on her tiptoes”. All I know is I never looked at Barbie and thought I should have an 18 inch waist but maybe that was just me. Note: since 2000 her waist is larger and they added a belly button.

I read in her “bio” that in February 2004 Mattel had a news release announcing that Barbie and Ken had decided to split up but in February 2006 they were back together again. WHAT…isn’t that what MY imagination is for? When I played with Barbie I made up her life story; that was part of being a kid and pretending. Why would Mattel tell us the way Barbie and Ken feel about each other…that is just wrong.

There has been a lot of controversy over Barbie (read more) but luckily I missed all that in my childhood. I was able to enjoy the simple life of Barbie, her life before the pink Corvette, the trailer and the jeep. It was just Barbie, my friends and me.

Happy Birthday Barbie

3 Responses

  1. Happy 50th Birthday Barbie! (but who’s counting?)

  2. Barbie and Me both nifty at fifty

  3. I had a Barbie doll and a Skooter doll

Leave a Reply

