Whatever happened to the P&J

I was talking to my sister yesterday and she mentioned she was eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. We then went on to discuss the all famous P&J and how much we love them. Making a good P&J sandwich is an art, you don’t just slab on your peanut butter and jelly. I personally like my P&J dispersed evenly where sis likes 2/3 peanut butter to 1/3 jelly. Not only do I like mine 50/50 but it has to be spread to the very end of the bread, I don’t want to see any white showing! There’s more, I also like some weight to my sandwich meaning you don’t spread a thin layer, I want some substance! My manfriend also enjoys them and when I make one for him (or anyone) I do put a lot of TLC in my P&J! It is an art!

Speaking of sandwiches my sis and I also realized that kids today don’t eat them anymore, they are kind of like albums, 8 tracks, cassettes…outdated. Back in the day I loved a good bologna sandwich with mustard and Frito’s sprinkled on top. You don’t even hear about bologna anymore…cuz Oscar Mayer has a way with B-O-L-O-G-N-A (if you are under 30 you have no idea what the hell I am talking about). I know bologna is full of stuff we don’t want to know about but it tastes so damn good. Another observation is the sub sandwich. Whatever Subway or Submarina, etc. is claiming to be a sub sandwich it’s not; it’s a buffet line of crap they go through to make a sandwich. When I was a kid back in NJ we had deli’s that made real sub’s that would overflow with all fresh ingredients. My question is…Is the good sub a thing of the past or is it an east coast thing?

I think what it boils down to is kids today don’t want to take the time to make a good sandwich…you have to take out the meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato, condiment, bread, chips, then make it and put everything away. Now they can take out something frozen, zap it in the microwave and eat. I guess the art of making a good P&J will become a dying one. I can see it now, I will be talking to my grandkids and mention a P&J and they will give me that look…the look of “huh”.

12 Responses

  1. How come you call it P&J and not PB&J? I love a good PB&J, but I had to stop buying peanut butter and jelly, because I would eat too much of it.

  2. Salami, Pepperoni, Ham, Capicola, Mozzarella, Prosciutto, Provolone, Roasted Peppers, Onions, Lettuce, Tomato, Olive Oil, Vinegar (red wine – not balsamic!) Salt, Pepper, Oregano. Don’t forget the bread – a good Italian roll. That’s the way to go. Still available in “Mom & Pop” type Deli’s in NJ

    As far as peanut butter and jelly; first off it is PB&J. Again, the type of bread is critical. Only Wonder White Bread will do. And of course you need a tall glass of cold milk!

    Bologna is definitely an under-rated deli meat. Oscar Mayer is the culprit. Get yourself some good Boar’s Head Bologna. FYI, try Lebanon Bologna some day.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lebanon_bologna

    It’s great stuff.

  3. I don’t know why I said P&J…I was thinking about going back and editing but changed my mind.
    And what’s funny is last night I mentioned capicola to my boyfriend and he had no idea what it was.
    YUCK to Wonder Bread.
    Yes to the glass of milk
    Also good with potato chips on the PB&J sandwich
    I only eat chicken and turkey so there goes the Lebanon Bologna.

  4. Another variation is to toast the bread so the peanut butter sort of melts from the heat.

  5. I agree that the Wonder Bread doesn’t add to PB&J. Bread that magically regains its shape after being smooshed should be questioned.

    I think the “great” sub is more of an East Coast tradition and classic. I imagine the “burrito” as the West Coast equivalent. When I read you two describing a “real sub,” it made me think of a “real” burrito and how good a burrito can be.

  6. Ahhh yes, PB&J on toast…classic!

  7. I honestly don’t know if I have had a “real” burrito. To me they basically all taste the same but then again, I have not had one on the east coast! Maybe I will have to try one next trip.

  8. I like a PB&J on a toasted everything bagel.

    PB&J is not really a lunch for me ever, it is not enough, i tend to eat it most often as a late night snack. I use to like grape, now i perfer strawberry, and smooth peanutbutter, I hate chunky.

  9. I love a PB&J with chips and a pickle on the side , preferably a sweet pickle. They can’t make a decent sub North of New York/New Jersey , they always want to heat the whole thing and toast the sub roll ????? In Chinese restaurants they serve bread ( not those lovely crunchy things) which people dip into their duck sauce…Yuck !!!

  10. I love my PB&J on Oat Bread….and I agree no part of the bread should show at all. It freaks me out that my kids will NOT eat a PB&J…just “PB”. I usually will have extra PB on the side too…and did you ever have a salami sandwich on a hard role with pepperocini’s on it ..mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  11. salami and peppercini’s …yes!!! i got one for you , might sound strange but oh so yummy. salami and grilled chicken on an everything bagel with lettuce and honey mustard….
    i’m still searching for the hard roll with butter to dip in my coffee – ala quik stop !

  12. Peppercini’s are the BEST (wish I still ate salami). Since moving to California I now love avacado on my sandwiches…but not a PB&J

Leave a Reply

