Can I count on you

Parents…stop counting!!!! Why do parents say to their children “I will give you to the count of 5 to ____”. This has got to be one of the dumbest thing a parent can do; counting puts the power in their hands. Have you noticed that a child will usually stop what they are doing at the count of 4…just one away from the deadline. How can that not irritate the person counting, not to mention you look ridiculous to all the other parents. If I say “stop yelling” I expect it to happen right away. I have never had a boss at a job say “finish your project by the time I count to 10” or a policeman say, “stop shooting your gun by the time I count to 5”. Life does not work like that. I have said it over and over again…a parents job is to teach.

So parents, by the time I count to 5, I would like you all to stop counting! One, two, three, four…ahh.

Leave a Reply

