Happy Mother’s Day

This Sunday is Mother’s day and since I am a Mom I guess that gives me the right to celebrate. I believe people have different ideas of what a Mom’s job is. I do know out of all my jobs it was the hardest but definitely the most rewarding. I believe the job of a mom is to raise your children to be responsible & good adults for society. Once they are out in the world you have done your job. It’s not to say you can’t still love them or help them out if you choose (and they ask for help) but when they leave the nest they are their own person. Let them live their lives the way they see fit.  What makes me point this out is that my mother, I believe, still thinks she has some kind of ownership on my life because she is my “mother”. Giving birth does not mean you have control of this person the rest of their life.

My children are 26 and 23 and are now responsible and good adults that are out in society…I have done my job quite well if I do say so myself. Now I just have to hope they will continue that path and know I will be there for them…not because I own them but only because I love them. And I feel they do not owe me anything…it was my pleasure! (wait, I do have some stomach stretch marks I need to get rid of)

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there…yes, even my Mom.

One Response

  1. Well said T.

Leave a Reply

