My path is covered with dirt

June is right around the corner which means graduation time for many students. Yesterday I had a conversation with a boy graduating from High School and he has his path planned out as clear as the San Diego sky 90% of the time. He wants to teach sign language in high school after getting his masters degree. When he was an infant his parents were told by Canadian doctors that he was deaf. A few years later they were in the states and found out their son was not deaf but something was wrong with his tonsils and he only had to have them removed for him to hear. Because of this whole mishap his life’s mission was so fortunately brought to him. Life is so odd.

Listening to him talk and hearing his passion and knowing for his future I found myself so envious. I have never known and still don’t know what I should do with my life. I find it to be one of life’s most frustrating things to deal with. What percentage of high school or college graduates knows what they want to do? I would have to think knowing is one of life’s greatest gifts. Being able to do your passion is the ultimate goal.

You hear people talk about how they knew from an early age what they wanted to do…what gene did I get cheated on? And yes, sometimes their dreams do change. One of my boys wanted to be a pizza delivery man and the other a game show host…neither have those professions.

I would love to know if you knew your path at an early age? Good luck graduates! My advice is go with your heart and not the dollar.

2 Responses

  1. There are very few Blessed people in the world who actually know at an early age “what they want to be when they grow up”. I know one of these people and it’s remarkable. I don’t know what God has in store for me as far as a career goes but I do know that if you find something that you enjoy, that you’re good at and you can make a living – Go For It!

  2. I just had a conversation with an old friend whose daughter will graduate high school this June. When I asked if she had any plans he said yes , ” she wants to be a housewife ‘ …

Leave a Reply

