Uncle Hal Rests

I’m heading to San Francisco today with a purpose…to finally put someone to rest. About 15 years ago my boyfriend’s uncle died and wanted his ashes to be spread in the San Francisco Bay. Yes, he is finally getting around to doing it and I would have to say “it is about time”.

Sad to say though his uncle was gay but did not “come out” to his family. My boyfriend, upon his uncle’s death, put two and two together and figured out he was a gay man. When he  died he was in his late 60’s, early 70’s…I wonder if he was still alive today if he would have felt comfortable enough to proclaim his homosexuality. I just feel bad for anyone who has to hide who they are. My boyfriend thought his uncle was the greatest…when he knew him as a straight man and now remembering him as a gay man.

I hope when we spread his ashes that Uncle Hal will know that the world is a tad more accepting now of gays but still has a long way to go.

RIP Uncle Hal

Leave a Reply

