Labor of Love?

Its Labor Day weekend which of course, made me think of my own labor of giving birth to my 2 sons. C’mon, that has to be the hardest labor any person can endure (not to mention I had no epidural). But this short story will not be about the actual labor but the 2 different nurses I had.

Birth one – I felt it was time to push so my husband went to get the nurse for her “approval”. Upon entering my room she yells at me “I just checked you”. Well, she proceeded to re-check me and I was indeed ready. Then when it came time to push on my stomach after the baby was born (women, you know what I’m talking about) she did it so harsh that I thought I would die. She was an awful & crabby nurse and should have chosen another profession.

Birth two – The sweetest, kindest nurse ever! Never yelled at me, got me ice chips, was by my side with kind words and smiled constantly. When she pushed on my stomach after the baby was born she did it with such ease I hardly felt it. She was incredible!

Moral of this story – Nurses are the most important part of anyone’s hospital visits…I don’t remember the doctor’s that delivered my babies but I will always remember those two nurses. So if you choose to make your “labor” as a nurse…please be a kind and compassionate person. If you’re going to be like Nurse #1, go work for the DMV.

One Response

  1. Knowing that I am a nurse that I really appreciate this particular one! Thanks Daily Dalia!

Leave a Reply

