I don’t know. I don’t know

Sometimes the Prop 8 articles are confusing to me…maybe I’m alone. But this one yesterday kind of made me laugh and was easy to understand…this Cooper dude is clueless (like most backers of Prop 8).

A federal judge challenged the backers of that damn Prop 8 to explain this simple question- How allowing gay couples to wed threatens conventional unions?

Judge Walker speaking to Lawyer Charles Cooper (backing prop 8)-

Walker“What is the harm to the procreation purpose you outlined of allowing same sex couples to get married?

Cooper“I don’t know. I don’t know”.

Walker went on asking for specific “adverse consequences” that could follow expanding marriage to include same sex couples.

Cooper cited a study from the Netherlands where gay marriage is legal, showing that straight couples were increasingly opting to become domestic partners instead of getting married.

Walker – “Has that been harmful to children in the Netherlands? What is the adverse effect?”

CooperI don’t have the facts at hand.

In January Mr. Cooper needs the answers to all these questions for the trial of the couple challenging the measure of Prop 8 as discriminatory under the U.S Constitution.

I never thought I would be agreeing with a Prop 8 backer but Mr. Cooper is right when he answered “I don’t know. He doesn’t know because there is NO HARM.

(taken from the Associated Press)

Leave a Reply

