Come and play, everthings A OK!

I couldn’t go the day without saying “Happy Anniversary” Sesame Street. 40 years ago today (November 10, 1969) one of the most creative shows started. Not only creative, but a show that is so well scripted and it’s only goal is to enrich the lives of children. I remember watching as a child and being totally entertained without really knowing it was an educational show. Later on I still enjoyed watching it with my children. Now no offense to Mr. Rogers but I always thought that show was so corny…Sesame Street was more “real”, even with a big yellow talking bird.

Speaking of Big Bird, can you believe the same man, Carroll Spinney, has been playing him along with Oscar the grouch for all 40 years. Jim Henson personally chose Mr. Spinney when Sesame Street began. Jim Henson; now that’s a life I was very sorry to see go so early. I can only imagine what his genius mind would be doing now if he was still alive.

Did you know that Sesame Street is the most researched show in TV history. Independent researchers have done more than 1000 studies on the program. On test showed that teens who watched SS in preschool had higher grades and spent more time reading then teens that missed the show as a child.

I remember one part of the show I loved. They would randomly pick a number each show, for instance – 4. It went like this – 1, 2, 3, 4…….4,4,4,4 lets sing a song of 4…how many is 4. Then they would show you 4 dogs and then 4 balloons or 4 trees. C’mon, does anyone remember that??

Well anyway, happy 40th Sesame Street…keep on counting! (one of my favorite clips)

One Response

  1. I was already a “bit” too old when Sesame Street debuted, but for some reason I preferred “watching you watch” Zoom. I always thought that it was the more clever educational show. 0-2-1-3-4!

Leave a Reply

