I say side B!

As everyone knows Tuesdays are “new music” release days… I don’t really know why but it is done on Tuesdays.  Well today Janet Jackson released her “Number One’s” CD. While reading my Target circular and viewing the arrival of this album I immediately said out loud, “another one”! It seems like she, along with many, many other artists go overboard with “best of” CD’s. Maybe she needs to help pay for Michael’s funeral so she quick took her last “best of” CD, slapped on new cover and shipped it out to the stores.  I know Madonna also has a new “best of”…she’s another one that overdoes it. She may have added one or two new songs but it’s all a scam to get people to spend more money. And yes, even Cher put out a couple too close in time (she should have turned back time….lol, lol).

Do people still buy CD’s or have they become the “you actually buy CD’s” phrase of the year. I know most people just download albums anymore or like me, I buy “songs”. Hey, it’s a recession so I pick the hit and purchase that. I feel like I’m 7 years old again buying the 45 because that’s all my allowance will let me afford. Only now I’m an adult, the country is in a mess and I’m unemployed hence the purchase of a “single”. I did splurge the other day (it was Tuesday, release day) and actually bought the new GLEE CD…which I love.  (Wow, in this post I got to mention Cher and GLEE…cool).

I know this past summer I took off a month of writing the Daily Dalia and re-posted the “best of” but I wouldn’t do the same ones AGAIN…I’ll wait till I’m rich and famous for that. How about these artist’s put out “The Second Best Of”…like the side B of a 45. Cher…you are more than welcome to use my great idea.

One Response

  1. I saw Janet’s release of greatest hits album, conviently called “Number Ones,” which happens to be the same name of one of Michael’s greatest hits. When I saw it, I thought to myself, “Another one?” She hasn’t had a greatest hits album in over ten years, I believe. “Design of a Decade” was the last one. She has released at least four albums since.

    Madonna has released four albums between greatest hits, with the exception of Celebration. My understanding is that Madonna had to release this greatest hits collection as her final obligation to Warner Bros Records, allowing her to officially go to Live Nation and release new material.

    Britney is releasing a greatest hits soon too and this is the one that really baffles me. She’s only had two albums inbetween this one and her last one. I think she needs some income to pay off her ex and probably some hospital bills.

    I think one greatest hits album per decade is agreeable. More than this is overboard.

Leave a Reply

