This is an exam that should not be missed

Last month was October which I believe is known as “breast cancer awareness month”. Now I may be wrong but I swear I heard that woman should give themselves self breast examinations monthly and have mammograms every year after age 40 unless you have a family history of breast cancer (then it can be earlier).

HOLD YOUR HORSES WOMEN…now some group is saying different. The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force now says we should not give ourselves self breast examinations and mammograms should be for woman over 50 (unless you have a history) and every other year. I’m, confused and my boyfriend is confused over all this “new” information.

The one thing that stood out the most is that this same group “The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force” had different findings and it was a group of different people. So is it new information or just new people giving us their opinion? All I know is that breast cancer is the #2 killer of U.S. Women. All I know is that my grandmother died at age 49 with breast cancer. All I know is that a family member had breast cancer and luckily she found it early on (in her 40’s) and is alive because she did not wait until she was 50. This is what I know.

I don’t think this should be a subject of confusion which is what is happening at this moment. Women are not sure what the hell to do. I have no faith in what the medical field tells me…I go by my gut feeling. And with this one my gut tells me to continue to have yearly mammograms and do self breast examinations (history or no family history of breast cancer).

4 Responses

  1. My wife is alive today is because of self exams and mamograms! I don’t know what the hell they are thinking with the new guidelines!

  2. My doctor told me several years ago that self exam is no longer recommended.

  3. I may not understand the female body, but is it unhealthy to do a self examination.? What harm is it for a woman to simply check herself once a month with a self exam? It may result in a few rushed checks at the doctor, but I always got the sense that women tend to be more in tune with their bodies and would be able to know whether it was worth of a doctor visit.

    Again, this may be a result of my pure ignorance of the female body, but I don’t get it. Teenage boys are supposed to check their testicles for testicular cancer, and that causes no harm to the male. Women’s bodies are confusing!

  4. I think the saying “better safe then sorry” is the key to this debate. And yes Ryan, I also wondered about the
    “advice” to men…has that changed?
    I’m sorry but I still think women issues are looked at differently then men issues.

Leave a Reply

